Useig font/text in AMV?

If you have questions about Anime Boston's AMV contest or want to seek advice, this is the place to ask.
xMeowmeg
Getting the hang of this...

Useig font/text in AMV?

Post by xMeowmeg »

Hey guys! so I've attended some previous convetions and seen some of the winnng amv's online and I have noticed that no one seems to be useing text or font for there amvs I'm a big editor myself and always like to make effects useing the lryics of a song and just was curious If that was alowed? :]
~

Cosplays for 2014: Kingdom hearts [Sora], Attack on titan [Eren, Annie]
Elli21486
Obsessed Poster

Re: Useig font/text in AMV?

Post by Elli21486 »

When I see font/text, I think of Pixel Blended's "So In Sync" or Chiikaboom's "Attack of the Otaku." Seeing Lyrics, I think of, "So In Sync" pops to my mind again. I think it can be done if it is artistically done. Would check with people who do AMV's though.
Past Conventions:
AB 2007-2009; 2011-2019, 2022

2023 Anime Boston Stats Debating

Creator of the Anime Boston Voter's Reaction vids. View them at Eri21486's Youtube Channel

Past Picture Galleries
2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017

Past Galleries Available If Asked
Faceman
AB Executive

Post by Faceman »

As an AMV watcher, text and fonts can be easy to do. But they're hard to do right. There has to be a real purpose to them.

Looking at "Attack of the Otaku" and "So In Sync", those AMVs are set up as lip-syncing songs. It's portraying the characters as singing the songs themselves. In that case, adding lyrics makes it a quasi sing-along-song. But notice that the words they add don't take away the focus from the main AMV content. They're using the words for a specific purpose, but it's not the main attraction.