My first con ever! What do I expect?

This forum is for general questions for staff that don't fit into one of the forums below. Please read the FAQ before posting new questions.
bludhoundz
I'm new!

My first con ever! What do I expect?

Post by bludhoundz »

Howdy! I’m a novice cosplayer (just started this year!) and I’ll be joining you all this April! I’m planning on coming all three days (a lot of my friends are egging me on!) The only problem is I’ve never been to a convention, and large spaces tend to make me extremely anxious.

So basically- what is this convention? Do we all just hang out and talk about anime/go to panels/etc? That’s what I’m finding, however I could be wrong. Sounds fun!!

Second- I live around here, is it okay if I don’t get a hotel? I can’t afford all three days and a hotel room, so I hope not. :c

Third- how the heck do I get in? I’m planning on buying my tickets soon, and I need an ID to enter, right? Do I just walk up to the convention center? Do I have to do anything to get in other than show my pass and my ID?

Fourth- (sorry, still more questions) can I just wander? Do I have to attend panels, and if I want to can I just show up? Do I have to sign up for anything? What are the contests? (I don’t want to join, just wondering...) is everything announced, or do people just have schedules and go to places when the time comes?

Fifth- (I think this will be the last one) do I have to sign up for photoshoots? I really wanna find my Peko (am I cosplaying as Fuyuhiko? Maybe..) and I want to participate in a Danganronpa photo shoot if there is one scheduled. How do I join one?

Thank you all for your help! Just a clueless 17 year old here, sorry.
aresef
AB Staff

Re: My first con ever! What do I expect?

Post by aresef »

I haven't been to AB since 2014, I'm returning this year, but I can explain your questions more generally.