Autograph Experience

This forum is for general questions for staff that don't fit into one of the forums below. Please read the FAQ before posting new questions.
Bae-san
Getting the hang of this...

Autograph Experience

Post by Bae-san »

Hi, I'll be attending the con for the first time this year and I was wondering...

In your personal experience when getting autographs from guests, are they seriously picky about only signing officially produced works? Like if I brought a small poster that I drew myself how likely would it be that they would sign it?

Sorry if this is a stupid question, like I said I'm quite new to this, this is my first large scale con.
AB17 | Radical Edward-Cowboy Bebop, L-Death Note, Karasuno High Volleyball Club Non-regular-Haikyu!!
AB18 | Levi Ackerman-Attack on Titan, Villetta Nu-Code Geass*, Radical Edward-Cowboy Bebop
LadyLark
AB Alumni

Re: Autograph Experience

Post by LadyLark »

Hi! I appreciate you asking ahead of time.

The answer is it depends on the guests. Most guests do not like to sign non-official items although some will sign fanart that you drew, it isn't standard across the board.

All guests will sign Anime Boston program books, which we will have on hand if needed. It's also a really good rule of thumb not to ask guests to sign things they didn't work on.
Rea Konecki
Industry and Guest Coordinator
Aurabolt
I'm Special!

Post by Aurabolt »

I've seen guests sign DVDs and video games they're credited to, instantly turning them into collector's items =O

Correct me if I'm wrong but there is a limit to how many items per guest that can be signed, yes? Can't remember if it was 2 or 3. Mostly asking because I wanted Johnny Bosch Young to sign 2 of 4 things I have he's credited to (physical video games and anime). Willing to cut it down to two though.
Serene Adventure on Wordpress
Aurabolt's Anime Blog

Attendee from 2010 to 2018. Ran multiple panels at AB from 2012 to 2016. Plans to return as a panelist in 2025 or 2026!