Makeup and hair artistry (possible at AA table?)

Anime would be nothing without art. This forum is here for artists to discuss the art show and artists' alley.
Soume
I'm new!

Makeup and hair artistry (possible at AA table?)

Post by Soume »

Hello there! I am an artist whose mediums are varied, and on top of my drawing, painting, sculpting and sewing: I am also a hair and makeup artist.
As we all know, tons of people cosplay and a lot need help styling hair and doing makeup to look more like their character.
So I was wondering if it was possible for me to do hair and makeup in AA along side my table where I will be selling my work.
Thanks so much! If this is at all possible I'm going to have so much fun helping cosplayers out!

Soume
Tuberat
AB Staff

Re: Makeup and hair artistry (possible at AA table?)

Post by Tuberat »

We've allowed body painting,so i don't see why not. Especially since it's not all you'll be doing (from the sounds of it).

we just ask that you be careful of any kinds of makeups or hair care products that could be spill able or destructive of property or get into the eyes of the artists around you ( i admit, I'm thinking of hair spray especially but also hair dryers) also, do not count on electricity. we may not be able to provide any this year (I'm thinking of curlers, etc....)

of course, i may need to consult with some higher ups for a final decision on this, as there could be restrictions i'm not yet aware of.
Nikki O'Shea Bean
http://www.dragonpressgraphics.com
http://www.bardscomic.com

Artists Alley Manager 2008-2017
Artists Alley Co-Manager 2005-07
Attendee 2004
Artists Alley Accidental Volunteer 2003
Soume
I'm new!

Post by Soume »

Oh, thank you so much for responding! That sounds great and I look forward to hearing the final answer!
And I am aware about electricity, I know it's been an issue in the past! And I remember doing makeup for an event for first night where I had to be especially careful not to spill anything.