General question about how cosplot works

You don't need to be in costume to post in this cosplay forum... but sometimes it helps.
Snowfall
I'm new!

General question about how cosplot works

Post by Snowfall » Fri Apr 06, 2018 10:38 pm

Hi! I'm really new to cosplay, and seeing the cosplay games this year really inspired me to want to do cosplay games next year... but im kinda curious about something.

So, from what I understand certain cosplay games have cosplot elements, like Chess is an obvious example. And for each cosplot, there's two separate teams, and the one you're on is based on whichever on your cosplay fits best.

Are the teams usually designed to allow as many cosplays as possible? Like, for instance, this year was earth vs. space. That's a super broad theme that can fit pretty much every cosplay. And last year was retro vs new, which LITERALLY fits every cosplay.

When I saw the theme for this year as being Shogun/Samurai, I kinda got confused, since I didn't realize they didn't actually say the opposite team until later down the line. And since that's pretty thematically restrictive... is it possible that I could end up making a cosplay for a character that wouldn't end up fitting cosplot (I was planning on a Satou Kazuma from Konosuba).

I'm in general just confused about cosplots relationship to cosplay games. No thread I've found so far has really answered my question. Basically, are the themes usually broad enough to allow all cosplays, or is it possible that next year will be really niche?

Sorry for the wall of text btw

ksmurf
AB Staff

Re: General question about how cosplot works

Post by ksmurf » Sat Apr 07, 2018 7:04 am

Thank you for your question! I'll answer by way of a cosplot master post.

For those that aren't familiar with the term "cosplot", this refers to the narrative around the Anime Boston Cosplay Games.