Tokyo Travel Tips for Timid Tourists

This forum is for discussion about Anime Boston's panel and workshop programming.
Xias
Veteran Poster

Tokyo Travel Tips for Timid Tourists

Post by Xias »

I'm excited to be bringing an entirely new panel to Anime Boston this year (and in fact this will be my first time presenting it at any con): Tokyo Travel Tips for Timid Tourists! As the name implies, this is designed to be a complete beginner's guide for someone who has always wanted to travel to Tokyo but has no idea where to start. I went to Japan for the first time last year and am currently planning a large group trip for this August, so I've collected a lot of information from all across the internet, plus from my own personal experience, to try and provide you with a great starting point. Basically this panel will save you the time & energy of spending hours researching across the internet like I did!

To give you an idea of all the stuff we'll attempt to cover in this panel, here's the panel outline:

Transportation: Getting to and Around Tokyo
-Airfare: When to go, Airports
-Trains: Japan Rail Pass?, JR vs Subway vs Private Rail, Shinkansen
-Other Travel Notes: Buses, Taxis, When’s the last train?
Lodging, Food, and Drink: Staying alive in Tokyo
-Where to stay? Hotel vs. AirBNB, Other Options
-Where to eat and drink? Restaurants, Izakaya, Bars, Fast food, Etc.
-Smoking: It happens everywhere indoors in Japan. How to deal with it (if you are sensitive to smoke pay special attention to this!)
Favorite Spots and Day Trips: Where to go in Tokyo
-A few personal recommendations in various Tokyo neighborhoods. (focusing on otaku shopping/arcades/etc)
-Easy daytrip suggestions from Tokyo

If you have any questions for the panel, please bring them and I will do my best to answer them! You could also ask them in this thread ahead of time if you are shy and I will try to bring answers with me to the panel.